Monday, July 2, 2007

Drive slower or pay $1000 dollars

The state of Virginia needs money for their transportation system so they raised the fines. If you are ticketed for more than 20 miles per hour over the speed limit you will be charged with reckless driving. The fine, a staggering $1050 dollars! Ouch! The interesting thing about the new fines is they only apply to Virginia drivers, out of state drivers will continue to pay fines based on the old rates.

So what do you think, should the new rates apply to everyone or just the Virginia drivers? Would you slow down if you knew it would cost you more than $1000 to pay the fine?

And here is an article about a guy who got a speeding ticket and sued the state to raise the speed limit.

No comments: